The Bondage of Stuff

empty-closet2

There is a line in the Big Book that goes “Relive me from the bondage of self” which often came to mind while I was planning and packing and selling almost everything I owned. The odd part was that I kept hearing it as “the bondage of stuff”.

As of today, my worldly possessions fit in a three suitcases and a large tote bag. Two of the three suitcases will remain with friends and family who have graciously agreed to stuff sit while I am away.  That leaves one carry on suitcase/backpack and the tote for all of my clothes, electronics, and sundries for the next 6 to 9 months.  Luckily, I like a challenge.

Surprisingly, the challenge hasn’t been in getting rid of my belongings.  Divesting myself of furniture and books and clothing took time and effort, but it wasn’t personally difficult.  In fact, I really enjoyed finding good homes for a lot of it.  No, what has been hard is not getting new things. So far I’ve resisted buying nail polish, a set of pens, and the entire contents of Ikea.  Even more difficult than buying new stuff is resisting the urge to take free things.  Within hours of staying with my mom, I had added not one but two sweaters to my wardrobe.  The caveat is that I love them so much. No really, I’ve worn then ever day I’ve been here and they will be perfect for staying at the B&Bs.

To keep from adding another suitcase worth of stuff to my toggery (thank you Dictionary.com), I’m employing one of my personal rules – Only buy what you need or love.  I’m also avoiding Target.  Between those two and having an 18 kg baggage limit, I just might be able to stick to my minimalistic goals.

 

 

Leave a Reply

