The Plan

“In preparing for battle, I have always found that plans are useless, but planning is indispensable.” – General Eisenhower

Over the past few months, I have been reminded of Eisenhower’s words as I’ve prepared to leave my country and my profession.  Since January, I have been mildly obsessive about reading posts in travel blogs, magazine articles, and packing lists on Pinterest.  As a result, my Type A tendencies have already found best option for getting from the Gatwick Airport to my hostel in London when I arrive in Europe (Thameslink rail service for 10.30 GBP and 57 minutes, by the way). Balancing out the obsessive habits is my commitment to being present during my travels and staying open to changes to my carefully crafted plans.  In summary, my goal is to be smart, be safe, and be flexible.  With all of that in mind, here is what the plan looks like right now:

Lisdoonvarna

Short Term:I will be spending two months each working in western Ireland and central France before traveling on my own to Paris, London, Edinburgh, and beyond for another two months.  My goal is to learn the ropes of running a small hotel while seeing some of Europe. Basically, I see the trip as a combination of apprenticeships in serving travelers with being a traveler myself.  Also, I decided on longer stays in rural areas where there is a better chance of living like a local.

Mid Term: My intent is to come back to New Orleans next winter and spring and then travel to Alaska to work over the summer.  Depending on how all of that goes, I’ll figure out what to do next.

Long Term: My ultimate goal is to run a hotel in New Orleans (preferably in the Garden District) and to provide training and employment options for men and women in recovery.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

